'Sonic the Hedgehog' and other Sega classics are coming to the Switch

Sega’s latest nostalgia trip isn’t limited to a mini Genesis and Shenmue ports. In the wake of a Japanese announcement, Sega has confirmed that it’s releasing a swath of classic Master System and Genesis games on the Nintendo Switch in North America and Europe this summer. The titles will fall under the Sega Ages bundle, and most of the initial roster are titles you’ll recognize: Sonic the Hedgehog, Phantasy Star, Alex Kidd in Miracle World, the arcade version of Gain Ground and Thunder Force IV. The new series should ultimately include over 15 titles.

It’s not certain what these titles will cost, although they’ll be available individually. There are promises of new features, although it’s not certain what those entail.

Yes, this is clearly yet another bid on Sega’s part to cash in on fuzzy feelings for its brand on a system that seems tailor-made for quick bursts of retro gaming. At the same, it’s hard to completely balk at the idea. Many of these games would eventually vanish (outside of emulators) if ports like these didn’t exist, and it underscores the diversity of the Switch’s lineup when retro ports are readily available alongside triple-A blockbusters.

Via: Kotaku, Polygon

Source: Sega (Twitter)

Source: Engadget - Read the full article here

Author: Daily Tech Whip

This article is part of our 'News Tiles' service. The site is currently in Beta. When it is fully operational you will be able to search through and arrange the 'Tiles' to display a keyword, product or technology over your chosen time period. For example you would be able to display all of the leading tech articles on the new Kindle Fire, in one spot in real time. You will also have access to our own original reporting and analysis as well as a polished place to post your own thoughts & reviews here, amongst the Daily Tech Whip Community. Please let us know if you have any feedback via the contact form or via Twitter. Don't forget to come back next week and see our full site and claim your name and your own free tech blog.

Share This Post On