Twitter kills notifications from threads of people you blocked

Twitter is ramping up its anti-abuse measures lately. After making abusive accounts invisible to anyone who don’t follow them, the microblogging website has announced that you’ll no longer be notified of replies to conversations started by people you’ve blocked or muted. The only notifications you’ll get from those threads, even if you’re repeatedly @mentioned, are from people you personally follow. Twitter’s Safety account revealed the new feature on the platform, saying that it’s a decision made after receiving “consistent feedback from the safety community.”

Over the past few weeks, Twitter showed that it has finally begun taking complaints about rampant abuse on its website much more seriously. Besides making abusive accounts invisible to most users, it now filters out offensive replies to tweets, as well. Ed Ho, Twitter’s VP of engineering, promised to roll out “a number of product changes” addressing abuse on the website. We can probably expect more changes in the future if the company truly wants to squash online abuse.

Source: Twitter Safety

Source: Engadget - Read the full article here

Author: Daily Tech Whip

This article is part of our 'News Tiles' service. The site is currently in Beta. When it is fully operational you will be able to search through and arrange the 'Tiles' to display a keyword, product or technology over your chosen time period. For example you would be able to display all of the leading tech articles on the new Kindle Fire, in one spot in real time. You will also have access to our own original reporting and analysis as well as a polished place to post your own thoughts & reviews here, amongst the Daily Tech Whip Community. Please let us know if you have any feedback via the contact form or via Twitter. Don't forget to come back next week and see our full site and claim your name and your own free tech blog.

Share This Post On